Home ยป Books ยป Book Review: The Apple Tart Of Hope By Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Book Review: The Apple Tart Of Hope By Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Book Review: The Apple Tart Of Hope By Sarah Moore FitzgeraldThe Apple Tart of Hope on June 5th 2014
Pages: 172
Goodreads

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, BACK TO BLACKBRICK, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

BOOK REVIEW: THE APPLE TART OF HOPE BY SARAH MOORE FITZGERALD

Book Review

The Apple Tart of Hope is a beautifully sweet read that leaves you with a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. It’s a story of friendship, love and hope. Following the disappearance of Oscar Dunleavy, one of the most loved boys at school, Meg, his best friend, flys back to Ireland from New Zealand. Having been away from several months, Meg doesn’t understand what could’ve driven Oscar to ride his bike off the cliff. Sensing that something isn’t quite right, Meg and Oscar’s younger brother Stevie set off to find out what really happened to Oscar and what led to his disappearance.

Told from the alternating perspective of both Oscar and Meg, the pair reminisce about the six months after Meg’s parents dragged her off to New Zealand. It’s curious how much of a connection you can feel between the two characters even though the reader doesn’t see the pair together in the present-time and can only read each individual’s memories of the other.

Reading the thoughts and feelings of both Oscar and Meg gives the reader an immediate connection to both of them. They’re the sort of people that you wish you knew and were friends with in real life. Both of them seem like real people and the author seems to have captured the thoughts of both the teenage boy and girl perfectly in her characters. I don’t think the ages of either characters is explicitly mentioned which means that the characters could be teenagers of any age really but that makes this story even better – it is both ageless and timeless.

This story and the writing is so simple and yet so beautiful. There are a few twists and turns in The Apple Tart of Hope but for the most part I just meandered my way through this story. Whilst this film was a lovely read, it does also highlight the social pressure that teenagers are under at high school and how it can all go very wrong, very quickly. This story isn’t really what you’d call ‘predictable’, but it’s not particularly hard to guess what the outcome will be either. However, this story isn’t about the ending, it’s about the journey. You learn the true meaning of friendship and how you should never give up hope because, as the book cover says, “there’s always a crumb left”.

I wish I could find out more about Oscar, Meg and their world, but one of the best things about this book is that it is so short and sweet. Nothing about this book is superfluous; each and every word is on point and hits you right in the middle of the chest. If you’re a fan of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park then I think you’d enjoy this tale as well. This book is an unexpected gem and I would absolutely recommend it to everyone, old or young, for it is a thoroughly heart-warming tale with a few life lessons thrown in too.

*Many thanks to Orion Children’s Books for providing me with a review copy. All opinions are my own. 

Buy The Apple Tart of Hope

Amazon | Book Depository 

Want more book suggestions? Click here for all of my book reviews.

If you liked this post, check out these:

Eleanor & Park Book Review
Fangirl Book Review
Where’d You Go Bernadette Book Review
The Little Paris Bookshop Book Review
Books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Stay up to date with What’s Hot?

Bloglovin’ / Instagram / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

[jetpack_subscription_form]


Follow:
Laura

Laura is a culture and travel blogger based in London. She studied French at Oxford University and now studies Law in London. She’s an avid reader and traveller and loves to combine the two with literary travel. Find her tips and reviews on the best reads, eats and destinations on whatshotblog.com.

Find me on: Web | Twitter

Share:

17 Comments

  1. Hilda K
    18th June 2014 / 9:40 AM

    This book sounds amazing, Laura! Love the cover – simply GORGEOUS. Glad to hear that this book has some twists and not really what you think it would be. Highlight on friendship is a great bonus as well! I loved Eleanor and Park so thank you for introducing us to this book! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Beautiful review, Laura! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 2nd November 2015 / 4:13 PM

    This sounds like my kind of book, thank you for the review, I will be looking out for it x

  3. Beautyqueenuk
    2nd November 2015 / 4:47 PM

    Having read your review, I think I would be left wanting to now more about Oscar and Meg too x

  4. 2nd November 2015 / 5:22 PM

    This sounds like a good read. I’m always looking for new books for my kindle and this has made the list!

  5. 2nd November 2015 / 5:43 PM

    Sounds like a great read, and has piqued my interest! x

  6. Tori Gabriel
    2nd November 2015 / 6:58 PM

    This sounds interesting. What kind of age would you recommend it for? I need a good book for my niece’s birthday next month.

  7. 2nd November 2015 / 8:37 PM

    Oh I am all for warm and fuzzy reads – sometimes you just need something that will life your heart. x

  8. 2nd November 2015 / 9:01 PM

    Oh this sounds lovely, just the kind of read that I need at the moment!

  9. 2nd November 2015 / 10:21 PM

    I need a warm and comforting read to lift my spirits these last few weeks have been grim, adding it to my reading pile! What are you reading next?

  10. Ickle Pickle
    2nd November 2015 / 11:12 PM

    Oooh this sounds a lovely book. I wish I had time to read. Kaz x

  11. Laura
    3rd November 2015 / 2:02 AM

    I struggle to read a lot of books as I’m always so busy so the fact that this is short and sweet really appeals to me xxx

  12. 3rd November 2015 / 2:27 AM

    It sounds lovely. If I could find some reading time this would be my kind of a book for sure.

  13. Codie Louise Austin
    3rd November 2015 / 12:06 PM

    Oh fab, this looks like my type of book (I loved Eleanor and Park!) and I’m going to download it immediately. Thanks for the review, I hadn’t even heard of it until now xx

  14. bloggingastrid
    4th November 2015 / 12:54 PM

    This sounds like a lovely read! I will have to check this out.

  15. Rachael Phillips
    4th November 2015 / 12:34 PM

    this sounds like a brilliant book, thanks so much for the recommendation.,

  16. Bex Smith
    4th November 2015 / 4:10 PM

    This sounds like a really lovely read and one to possibly add to my TBR pile

  17. 6th November 2015 / 8:19 PM

    I think I would easily read that! Great review! You really made me want to buy it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?