Home Β» Books Β» Book Review: The 100 By Kass Morgan

Book Review: The 100 By Kass Morgan

The 100 by Kass Morgan Book Review

Title: The 100
Author: Kass Morgan
Genre: Young Adult, Post-apocalyptic, Sci-fi
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: 29th August 2013
Goodreads Summary: In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland… before it’s too late.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust – and even love – again.

Book Review

The 100 is set in a distant future where the entire human race lives on spaceship floating above the Earth. The Earth is inhabitable after a nuclear war but with resources running thin on the spaceship, the governing body are looking to return to Earth as soon as possible. Unsure whether or not Earth is still dangerously radioactive, the Chancellor decides to send 100 teenage delinquents to Earth, each with a monitoring bracelet attached to them, to see if they survive.

This story is told from the alternating perspective of four teenagers: Clarke, Wells, Bellamy and Glass. Clarke and Glass are both delinquents and so are automatically part of the group to be sent to Earth. Wells, the son of the Chancellor, is in love with Clarke and upon hearing that she will be sent to Earth, he deliberately commits a crime giving him the status of ‘delinquent’ as well. Bellamy on the other hand, isn’t a delinquent, but his sister is. Determined to protect her, he manages to jump into the pod leaving for Earth just moments before it departs. Taking advantage of the commotion caused by Bellamy, Glass manages to escape from the pod and remains on the spaceship.

I usually hate stories that have too many alternating perspectives because there usually isn’t enough depth or connection between characters but because these four stories are subtly intertwined, the story rolls seamlessly on through all four perspectives. I didn’t like all of the characters in this novel but I loved reading about each and every one of them.

Each character has a different personality and as you learn more and more about their pasts and what shaped them, you understand each character’s decisions. There’s no sort of introduction to any of the characters or the history of Earth, the reader is thrown in at the deep end and you’ve just gotta learn to swim. In just about every chapter there’s a flashback to some past moment that helps to explain the present and although this means quite a lot of jumping back and forth, both the past and the present are woven together seamlessly so that this is barely noticeable.

I can see why The CW has created a TV adaption based on The 100 because there are just so many things that you could do with this story. This is not just a post-apocalyptic, sci-fi novel, but also a story of romance, friendship, family, action and humanity.

This book held my attention for its entirety but for the most part I was thinking ‘this is book is good, but not great’. Then, I got to the closing few chapters where I met plot twist after plot twist and it turns out that each and every character has a secret and the stories of all four characters are intrinsically linked. There are a few clues along the way which hint at the ending but there’s no way that you could predict how all these little snippets and these four stories come together.

There is also an even bigger plot twist which doesn’t relate directly to the four characters but it has consequences for the entire human race and it changes pretty much everything about this mission to Earth and I simply cannot wait to see what happens next!

The 100 is perhaps a little slow at getting started, but when it does, it is brilliant. It is the ending of this book that you will really remember as it is fast-paced and there are new plot twists being thrown at you left, right and centre. This was a great introductory novel that has paved the way for a brilliant new series with interesting characters, plot and setting. This is also quite a short read, but so much has been packed into this novel. I would highly recommend reading this book prior to watching The 100 TV adaptation. All in all, I highly recommend this book!

Buy The 100 by Kass Morgan:
Amazon | Book Depository

*Many thanks to Hodder for providing a review copy!

If you liked this post, check out the following posts:
Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
The Last Star by Rick Yancey
Earth Girl by Janet Edwards
Earth Star by Janet Edwards

Stay up to date with What’s Hot?
Instagram / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

Follow:
Laura

Laura is a culture and travel blogger based in London. She studied French at Oxford University and now studies Law in London. She’s an avid reader and traveller and loves to combine the two with literary travel. Find her tips and reviews on the best reads, eats and destinations on whatshotblog.com.

Find me on: Web | Twitter

Share:

45 Comments

  1. Alex Sharrock
    18th September 2013 / 6:55 PM

    I saw the tv advert for The 100 and it looked fab! I am glad you enjoyed it… I feel the same as you when it comes to changing pov's, but then I read Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts which has 5 pov's and it was fab! :)…

    Great review πŸ™‚ xx

    • Laura Hartley
      22nd September 2013 / 5:09 PM

      I still haven't seen the TV advert! From the synopsis it sounds like they've changed quite a lot of stuff though. I've never heard of Dark Inside but will check it out now πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

  2. LaΓ­s Roque
    18th September 2014 / 4:30 PM

    I watched some epis from the tv show and looked cool! and this review made me wanted to read too πŸ™‚

  3. Hungry_Healthy_Happy
    24th May 2016 / 11:21 AM

    I am not a huge fan of sci-fi, but I have a friend that loves this kind of stuff. Might get it for her for her birthday,

  4. 24th May 2016 / 3:55 PM

    I didn’t actually know that this was a book to go alongside the TV show. x

  5. Kerry O'Byrne
    24th May 2016 / 4:04 PM

    Sci-fi isn’t really my thing, but this book would be perfect for my brother. I will let him know how good your review was and tell him to give it a chance before it gets interesting. Another great review!

  6. 24th May 2016 / 5:21 PM

    I loved the book before I watched the series and I think the book is far better than the series. I couldn’t get into the series for some reason which is a shame!

  7. Rashmi & Chalukya
    24th May 2016 / 7:33 PM

    City-like spaceships orbiting Earth sounds interesting. I wonder if the book somehow warns us on future πŸ˜‰ Would love to read it. Thanks for sharing.

    • 25th May 2016 / 2:12 PM

      I certainly hope not otherwise the future is looking very bleak indeed!

  8. Francis Powell
    24th May 2016 / 7:38 PM

    The way things are going, with so much hostility in the world, maybe spaceships above the earth, will be the future…

    • 25th May 2016 / 2:12 PM

      I really hope that it isn’t as it sounds horrible, but then again, we probably won’t be here to witness that anyway!

  9. 24th May 2016 / 10:32 PM

    The concept does sound really interesting. I’ve never seen the series so now would be a good time to read the book.

  10. 25th May 2016 / 12:21 AM

    The story sounds intriguing. Would love to read this for sure.

  11. Things Sarah Loves
    25th May 2016 / 1:09 AM

    Sounds like a really good read, will definitely have to put this on my list.

  12. 25th May 2016 / 2:42 AM

    I have not heard of this book, but it sounds like an interesting read. I have a friend that may enjoy this and will suggest it.

  13. Denni Engelen
    25th May 2016 / 8:31 AM

    I didn’t even know there is a book. I used to like the series but after seson3 was pretty boring so I quit watching . Now reading your post I want the book

  14. Alison
    25th May 2016 / 9:11 AM

    I had no idea this was a book and now I am going to read it. It looks really good. I didn’t have time to watch the series so maybe I can start with the book and move on from there.

  15. Beautyqueenuk
    25th May 2016 / 12:07 PM

    I am not too sure this is for me personally, but you reviewed it really well, I am just more of a thriller killer kind of girl x

  16. Beth
    25th May 2016 / 1:17 PM

    A great review. I don’t really read books but would love to back into reading in future

  17. 25th May 2016 / 1:52 PM

    I loved the book and I actually really love the series, it’s got a bit drab during this season but I’m holding out and hoping that they are going to pull something great out of the bag x

  18. 25th May 2016 / 3:29 PM

    I’ve recently started getting into Sci-fi movies despite used to hating them previously, although I’ve never read a sci-fi book but this one sounds good with a bit of a love story πŸ™‚

  19. 25th May 2016 / 4:09 PM

    This book sounds awesome a mix between divergent and walli-E I love it.

  20. Hannah Heartss ❄️⛄️
    25th May 2016 / 5:03 PM

    I had been wanting to watch the TV series but I will read the book first now – I didn’t realise there was even a book!

  21. Sarahjane
    25th May 2016 / 5:10 PM

    I loved the series based on these books! I am a believer that books are better so might squeeze this onto my summer reading list!

  22. 25th May 2016 / 8:29 PM

    I watch the show but I haven’t read the book perhaps I need to look at giving it a read πŸ™‚ x

  23. Melanie Edjourian
    25th May 2016 / 8:33 PM

    I love sci-fi’s this sounds interesting bet i would love it. Not heard of the book before.

  24. Kira L Curtis
    25th May 2016 / 8:35 PM

    I’ve been wanting to read this book for a long time and don’t want to watch the program until I have read it! I need to buy it though first! Really glad you enjoyed it!

  25. Leanne Dolan
    26th May 2016 / 9:46 AM

    I’m not usually into Sci Fi books but this one actually sounds really interesting. I would possibly look out for it at the library rather than buy it though!

  26. 26th May 2016 / 11:36 AM

    ive been so busy ive not had no time to read and it seems im missing lots of lovely reads x

  27. 26th May 2016 / 11:57 AM

    This sounds really interesting. I like books which have sub-plots and twists, I do like to be surprised by a novel!

  28. 26th May 2016 / 3:49 PM

    Looks like a good read. I am not a fan of novels that have too many perspectives either, I sped time debating in my head rather than paying attention to whats really happening in the story, haha.
    xx, Kusum | http://www.sveeteskapes.com

  29. Laura
    26th May 2016 / 4:59 PM

    Ooh this is definitely different to the kind of books I usually read- more trashy girlie books. My friend loves Divergent and I think this book would be right up her street xxx

  30. Rodanthi Dimou
    26th May 2016 / 7:21 PM

    It sounds like a good read, especially for the summer, when we want something different, something to take our mind off everyday things. A great idea for a present too.

  31. Jessica
    27th May 2016 / 12:08 AM

    I really don’t like the slow beginning but I am fine as long as the ending worth to wait. πŸ™‚

  32. 27th May 2016 / 12:53 AM

    I find the synopsis interesting.. It made me curious on what happened to them on earth and if the human race are able to repopulate the earth. If there is a TV series on this, I will check on this online.

  33. 27th May 2016 / 9:15 AM

    This books seems like it has a very fascinating story. I hope the beginning of the story wasn`t boring.

  34. Rachael Phillips
    27th May 2016 / 10:21 AM

    as you know i love your book reviews and perfect timing as I’m just about to go away <3

  35. Eloise Maoudj Riley
    27th May 2016 / 11:44 PM

    wow, that’s a very in depth review! love it! I’ll have to read this book, I need a new one!

  36. Lily Travella
    28th May 2016 / 7:41 AM

    I’ve seen the tv show but never read the book. i can never get going with reading to be honest. Id love to but as i can’t visualise anything I get lost quickly so would rather watch it. Especially if they’re slow to get going in books.

  37. Andrea
    29th May 2016 / 2:09 PM

    Sounds like a great distopia! I’d love to read the book and then watch the show to compare!

  38. Teky Frost
    29th May 2016 / 9:55 PM

    Seems interesting, I’m not a book worm but I’d love to see a movie about this πŸ™‚

  39. 31st May 2016 / 5:51 PM

    I started to watch this one, but think that the book actually might be better – I loved this type of SciFi when I was younger.

  40. Le Coin de Mel
    2nd June 2016 / 10:06 PM

    I saw the first episode of the 100 and I bet the book is 10 times better than the series!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?