Home ยป Books ยป Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo MoyesMe Before You (Me Before You, #1) on December 31st 2012
Pages: 369
Goodreads

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.What Lou doesn't know is she's about to lose her job or that knowing what's coming is what keeps her sane.Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he's going to put a stop to that.What Will doesn't know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they're going to change the other for all time.

Book Review: Me Before You By Jojo Moyes

Me Before You is about Will Traynor, a rich, active businessman, whose life is turned upside down when he is involved in a motorcycle accident and paralysed from the chest downwards.  His mother is desperate to find a full-time day carer for him and finds Louisa Clark, a recently unemployed young woman who doesn’t have any qualifications. At first, Will and Lou don’t get along at all, but they learn a lot from each other as time goes on. This is a heartbreaking story about two people whose lives are irrevocably changed from the moment they meet.

Me Before You is written from the first person perspective of Lou, the female protagonist. Lou is a really likeable character and I thoroughly enjoyed reading her narrative because she’s really funny and fearless but also sensitive and unique. She is the sort of girl who wears yellow and black striped tights even though she’s twenty seven and you can’t help but love her. I really connected with her character and felt both her happiness and her pain as I read this book.

There are a couple of chapters which give us an insight into the minds of some other characters including Will, Nathan (Will’s medical carer), Camilla (Will’s mother) and Katrina (Lou’s sister). The book starts off with a small chapter from Will’s perspective on the day of his accident so you really understand what Will was like before his accident and see the tremendous difference afterwards.

The story line of this novel is the most moving I have ever read. It makes you think about what it would really be like to be completely paralysed, which I doubt many people have seriously considered. This book gives you an insight into what life might be like for those with physical disabilities but also those around them.

Obviously I’m still nowhere near truly understanding the life of a quadriplegic but Me Before You really inspired me to find about more about how I can help those less fortunate than myself. This isn’t the sort of book I usually read, in fact, I usually avoid ‘illness’-related books but I seriously regret keeping this book on my shelf, unread, for the past year.

This is a completely different sort of romance to any that I’ve read before because it doesn’t really involve any physical touching. It’s all about Lou and will connecting on an emotional level. You can see a connection developing between the main characters slowly, a real connection mind you, and not the whimsical ones you often find in romance books.

This is, without a doubt, the most beautiful and heartbreaking love story I have ever read in my entire life. This is the sort of love that creeps up on you when you least expect it. There was one moment whilst reading this that I actually started sobbing (full on sobbing) and I had to put the book down for five minutes whilst I got all my emotions out.

This was not the only time I cried whilst reading this novel, oh no, I was pretty much crying not stop for the entirety of the second half and this book touched my heart in a way that no other book has. In some ways, you could call this an adult version of The Fault in Our Stars, as there are similar issues explored, but I was much more moved by Me Before You – if that’s even possible!

Lou and Will learn a lot from each other as the book progresses, so in turn, I learnt a lot too. Me Before You completely changed perspective on quadriplegics, on life and on love. I cannot recommend this book enough, it is absolutely phenomenal and a must-read for everyone. I didn’t think that this sort of book was for me and now it’s my favourite book, so please give it a chance!

For teenage readers, if you liked TFIOS, then Me Before You is probably also up your street. For adult readers, anyone with a heart will love this book.

Buy Me Before You:
Amazon | Book Depository

Pin now, read again later!

Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes #whatshotblog #bookreview #booklover

If you liked this post, check out these:
Me Before You Film Review
A Guide to Paris in Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
The Fault in Our Stars by John Greenwood
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Find more book reviews on What’s Hot here.

Stay up to date with What’s Hot?
Instagram / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

[jetpack_subscription_form]

Follow:
Laura

Laura is a culture and travel blogger based in London. She studied French at Oxford University and now studies Law in London. She’s an avid reader and traveller and loves to combine the two with literary travel. Find her tips and reviews on the best reads, eats and destinations on whatshotblog.com.

Find me on: Web | Twitter

Share:

37 Comments

  1. awatif al
    20th January 2014 / 1:50 PM

    I cant wait to read , thank you for the honest review xx

  2. Lorraine
    13th February 2014 / 10:43 AM

    I felt the same when I read Christopher Reeves auto-bio, it changed my view on quadraplegics. I have this book on my list but will wait to read it when I feel a bit brighter, the winter blues have arrived and I think I need to read up-beat books for a while.

  3. Rebecca Whitehead
    29th July 2015 / 7:52 AM

    Thanks for the review! I'm looking at buying a kindle and can't wait to load it up with books and read again ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

  4. irmajane
    29th July 2015 / 8:03 AM

    Looks like an interesting read, might have to give it a go ๐Ÿ™‚
    Irma xo

  5. Rhian Westbury
    4th February 2016 / 3:50 PM

    I have this book sat on my bookshelf ready to read along with some other JoJo Moyles books. I have loved reading everything of hers I’ve read so far so I might have to pop it aside to read next x

  6. Emma Groves
    4th February 2016 / 4:13 PM

    It sounds like a rather inspiring book from what you have written! I suffer with long term conditions and was originally given a diagnosis that following an op could have lead to paralysis but, thankfully that diagnosis no longer exists. I cant imagine how anyone could cope with that unless they were born that way and knew no other way of life.

    Ems xo

  7. 4th February 2016 / 4:42 PM

    I have read this book. Read it ages ago and I remember liking it.

  8. 4th February 2016 / 4:43 PM

    Aw what a lovely ethos, I have disabled friends and family and I think that we definitely take things for granted sometimes and should look at things from their perspective!

  9. sarah Lea
    4th February 2016 / 5:00 PM

    I keep meaning to read this book! I’ve even got it on my kindle. I have read a lot of good reviews about this! I might read it next ๐Ÿ™‚ Honestly, I need to get back into reading, thank you for inspiring me. xx

  10. 4th February 2016 / 5:24 PM

    This sounds like a good read and the story line is very inspiring.I will need to add it to my reading list.

  11. 4th February 2016 / 6:07 PM

    oh I have not heard of this one but sounds up my street

  12. Tori Gabriel
    4th February 2016 / 6:54 PM

    Wow! You sound like you really enjoyed this book. I need to pick up a copy. It sounds interesting.

  13. London Mum
    4th February 2016 / 9:23 PM

    I read this book a few years ago and it was beautiful. It really made me think how much life changes when you become paralysed. I know it seems obvious, but you don’t really notice all the smaller things until they’re pointed out.

  14. Teresa Bowen
    4th February 2016 / 10:53 PM

    I was given one of Jojo Moyes other books to review when it was first published and hated it so much I had to withdraw from the promotion. I haven’t dared try anything else by her since but you make this one sound interesting. I might see if it is available in the local library and give her a second chance.

  15. Jessica
    5th February 2016 / 5:57 AM

    The title looks interesting and so, I need to get a copy of this.

  16. 5th February 2016 / 1:01 PM

    Great review, I’ve always been meaning to read a JoJo Moyes book!

  17. Bex Smith
    5th February 2016 / 2:43 PM

    I love this book and keep meaning to pick up the sequel. Cannot wait for the film

  18. Kacie Morgan
    5th February 2016 / 3:03 PM

    Sounds like a very thought provoking book! I’d probably enjoy this!

  19. Hannah Malanga
    5th February 2016 / 7:54 PM

    Ive heard of JoJo Moyes before but never picked one up. May have to add it to the ever growing reading list

  20. Ickle Pickle
    5th February 2016 / 9:06 PM

    This sounds a great book – I really must find some time to read. Kaz x

  21. Helen
    6th February 2016 / 9:38 PM

    This looks like a great book – I think I would get addicted to reading it and I would not want to put it down.

  22. Jessica Dearnley
    6th February 2016 / 9:50 PM

    This book sounds great and something I’d probably want to read myself. I need to buy a new book.

  23. Beautyqueenuk
    7th February 2016 / 4:26 PM

    This is one of my all time favourite books, I just loved it x

  24. 7th February 2016 / 5:09 PM

    Love reading but sadly I don’t have as much time to sit down and read as much as I would like. This book sounds like one I would enjoy though

  25. Amy Scott
    18th May 2016 / 12:59 PM

    I’ve read this one, a nice light read. I found mine on a shelf at my hotel left behind by someone else. Just like you found yours at the charity shop. I find acquiring books inexpensively or for free a total treasure, even if they’re not great it was no loss ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Alison
    18th May 2016 / 4:48 PM

    I just saw the preview for this movie and loved it so I started seeking out the book! I am so excited to read it especially after your summary! I need a good love story!

  27. disqus_gZ7jp0Ej6Q
    18th May 2016 / 5:57 PM

    I usually stay away from anything too dramatic but I admit this one caught my interest specially with your review. I like how it doesn’t focus on physical interaction as you are absolutely right, establishing a realistic connection goes way beyond that. More of these are missing in the market. Good review.

  28. 19th May 2016 / 4:25 AM

    I’ve been hearing so many great things about this book. I think your summary is one of the better ones I’ve read. And the movie preview looks just as good. I’ll definitely have to consider picking it up this weekend! Thanks for the honest opinion! XO

    Anna || A Lily Love Affair

  29. Carrie Chady Rundhaug
    19th May 2016 / 7:14 AM

    Sounds like a great book! I actually think I have this one on my TBR list. Then again I can’t keep up with them because I have like 600 books on there! Haha!

  30. Rosie Heather Roman
    19th May 2016 / 10:21 AM

    I love a good love story so will definitely be adding this to my holiday reading list! Lovely post ๐Ÿ™‚

    Rosie | http://www.rosieromance.com

  31. 19th May 2016 / 8:34 PM

    I haven’t read that book yet! It looks like a great book and I’m curious after your summary !

  32. Ming Ming
    20th May 2016 / 3:58 AM

    I haven’t read the book yet but upon reading your review it made me wanna go buy this book and read. This is not a typical love story because going thru an accident and having been paralyzed will definitely make a person hopeless. Ugh, I can’t wait to read this one.

  33. Rakel
    20th May 2016 / 1:52 PM

    It sounds great! I’m looking for new books, so I think this is a great option ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

    Rakel โ™ฅ http://www.alovelystyle.com

  34. Jessica
    20th May 2016 / 4:38 PM

    Loving yourself is the key! This books look like will bring a lot of enlightenment. ๐Ÿ™‚

  35. FabZlist
    20th May 2016 / 5:54 PM

    Lovely review!This books sounds like light romantic sunday read!

  36. Juliette Theureau
    16th June 2016 / 5:05 PM

    So now that I have read your book review, I can tell that you convinced me to give it a try ๐Ÿ˜‰
    (btw you’re following me on Instagram on my book account @cellequilitdanslanuit so I thought that you might like to know that Instagram made the link to your blog (which I think is quite rear, at least with my blog ^^))

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?