Home » Film » Film Review: Johnny English Reborn

Film Review: Johnny English Reborn

Film Review: Johnny English Reborn is a Hilarious Sequel

 
It’s been a very long time since the release of the first Johnny English movie, eight years in fact, but finally, the sequel is here. If you haven’t seen the first Johnny English movie, then I thoroughly recommend you watch it for even more ridiculous antics. The Johnny English movies are much like spoofs of the James Bond movies. Johnny English is a British spy and supposedly the best at what he does; however, he is prone to making elementary and hysterical mistakes along the way. In this movie, Johnny returns to work after being suspended from service after a disaster that occurred in Mozambique. This time he is trying to stop a group of assassins plotting to kill the Chinese premier but scarring memories from Mozambique are hindering him. Thankfully, his new sidekick Tucker is on the ball and makes sure English is on track.

At about half way through Johnny English Reborn, I realised that I didn’t actually have a clue what was going on. I had absolutely no idea what the plot line was, but surprisingly, this didn’t bother me at all because the film was just so damn entertaining. I don’t think I’ve ever watched a movie when I wasn’t clear on the plot lines and I still enjoyed it. The two are generally mutually exclusive, but not this time. I think that goes to show just how enjoyable and comic this film really is.

Rowan Atkinson does not disappoint with his perfect embodiment of Johnny English. He brings something completely unique to every film that he does and I’m in amazement of how someone doing something so stupid can look so suave whilst doing it. His facial expressions are absolutely priceless and I really wonder how he can contort and move his features like that. The jokes are absolutely hilarious and I marvel at the seriousness that Atkinson has when doing or saying something ridiculous. Atkinson really is the top of his game with this almost slapstick style comedy which so far I haven’t seen any other actor do better.

Alongside Rowan Atkinson is Gillian Anderson who plays ‘Pegasus’, English’s new boss. She also pulls off a flawless act and spends most of the time scolding or gawking in shock at English. Daniel Kaluuya, a fairly new British actor, is the Ying to Atksinon’s Yang. The two characters work well as a double act and Tucker is the one who keeps pulling English back on track and is the sensible agent out of the pair. If not for Tucker, English would be a complete and utter disaster. And last, but not least, there’s Rosamund Pike who plays Kate Sumner, English’s behavioural psychologist, who of course, provides the love interest and does it so well.

I was watching Johnny English Reborn on a long flight over to America and I must’ve looked like an absolutely freak because I was weeing myself with laughter in my seat. After I got off the plane, my friend, who was sitting on the other side of the plane, even said she could hear the sound of my laughter loud and clear.

With mistaken identities, misplaced objects and sheer stupidity, Johnny English Reborn is the perfect film for all the family and now you can get it on DVD and watch it from the comfort of your very own home!

Buy Johnny English Reborn on DVD now

If you liked this post, check out these:

That Awkward Moment Film Review
Bridesmaids Film Review

Stay up to date with What’s Hot?

Instagram / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow:
Share:

50 Comments

  1. 22nd Feb 2012 / 4:16 AM

    Haha! I love Rowan Atkinson. Why did it take so long to make a sequel? 🙂

  2. laurahartleyy
    22nd Feb 2012 / 6:00 PM

    In an interview, Atkinson stated that they'd actually planned to make the sequel straight after the original movie; however, they soon decided to film mr bean's holiday instead, delaying the release of the sequel. 🙂

  3. Sky Entertainment
    23rd Feb 2012 / 1:46 PM

    Hey..

    It's going to be a very entertaining. Would love to watch the sequel.

  4. PrettyLusciousThings
    25th Apr 2016 / 12:09 PM

    I’ve never been a fan of Johnny English but what I do love is that they make everyone laugh and if you put this on the TV on a wintery afternoon the whole family will soon be chuckling.

  5. Travel Pockets
    25th Apr 2016 / 2:09 PM

    I don’t really watch Johnny English movies, but sounds like this was one funny film!

  6. Hungry_Healthy_Happy
    25th Apr 2016 / 3:19 PM

    I love Mr Bean (haha), but it’s nice to see him in something else, like this.

  7. 25th Apr 2016 / 4:14 PM

    I found this really funny but mainly because I think Rowan Atkinson is hysterical x

  8. 25th Apr 2016 / 4:14 PM

    I loved the first Johnny English but I don’t think I actually gave the second one a watch. x

  9. 25th Apr 2016 / 4:46 PM

    I have to admit I love both the Johnny English films there is something about them that gets me giggling. x

  10. Amy Scott
    25th Apr 2016 / 4:57 PM

    I’ve never seen the previous JE movies, the thing is as much as I enjoyed Mr. Bean as a kid I cannot stand his slap stick character style anymore. And it’s one of those irrational dislikes that you;re not quite sure what turned you off!

  11. Alison Bergstrom Grant
    25th Apr 2016 / 5:05 PM

    I have never seen a Johnny English film or even heard of it! I remember watching Mr. Bean when I was younger but I never could quite get into his humor. I may have to give this one a try though.

  12. 25th Apr 2016 / 5:31 PM

    I love Rowan Atkinson he is such a great actor and so funny. My boys loved Mr Bean and always ended up in fits of laughter on the floor x

  13. Natalie Jones
    25th Apr 2016 / 7:30 PM

    I’m a big Rowan Atknson fan. I think his comedy it brilliant….I really enjoyed the first Johnny English film but I found the second one a bit samey

    • 25th Apr 2016 / 11:50 PM

      He’s really funny! I wish he was in more movies.

  14. Harriet @ Toby&Roo
    25th Apr 2016 / 7:32 PM

    I am definitely NOT a Rowan Atkinson fan – slap stick is not my comedy at all, husband loves it though! H x

  15. 25th Apr 2016 / 8:48 PM

    Wait..there is a sequel to the first movie? How come I don`t know about this! The first one is all time favourite in our family, `cause we had so much fun watching it as kids with parents!

  16. Cheyenne Skyeforest
    25th Apr 2016 / 9:05 PM

    My husband and I have both been Rowan Atkinson fans ever since his Mr. Bean days. I did not even realize that there was a second Johnny English movie made. I just looked up the movie on Netflix and added it to our queue!

  17. 25th Apr 2016 / 9:28 PM

    Rowan Atkinson makes me laugh but I had no idea there was a second movie out! Since I have Netflix I might watch it if it is on there!

  18. Melanie Edjourian
    25th Apr 2016 / 9:43 PM

    They did a second one, I didn’t realise, where have i been lol.

  19. 25th Apr 2016 / 10:36 PM

    I think Rowan Atkinson is very watchable. His facial expressions are the best. I haven’t seen this movie though.

  20. Ana Ojha
    26th Apr 2016 / 4:00 AM

    I love Rowan Atikson’s facial expressions…he acts crazy at times. I have watched this movie and loved it!

  21. Bernadette
    26th Apr 2016 / 4:14 AM

    I love Rowan Atikson. He is so funny and love anything he is in. Cant wait to see this, we have not yet.

  22. 26th Apr 2016 / 5:13 AM

    Hahahaha I loved all Johnny English movies and he’s just too hilarious not to crack up laughing

  23. Elizabeth
    26th Apr 2016 / 6:28 AM

    I bet my teenage son would love this. Have to tell him about it.

  24. 26th Apr 2016 / 8:31 AM

    Rowan Atkinson has the funniest facial expressions ever. I find him so funny.

  25. 26th Apr 2016 / 11:36 AM

    We are familiar w/ Rowin as Mr. Bean, I believed we watched this movie in a cable channel several years back. Our kids loved his antics..

    Sonnie | ASKSonnie.info

  26. 26th Apr 2016 / 11:37 AM

    Haha sometimes with films like this, the plot isn’t all that important. I love Rowan Atkinson, will have to watch this.

  27. 26th Apr 2016 / 12:07 PM

    I have never seen either of the Johnny English films, but I absolutely love Rowan Atkinson!

  28. 26th Apr 2016 / 1:56 PM

    I can’t look at Rowan without seeing and hearing Mr. Bean. He really cracks me up. I bet this will be a movie that I see, but probably when it comes out to rent.

  29. Tori Gabriel
    26th Apr 2016 / 3:35 PM

    I love Rowan Atkinson. He is a comedy genius. Just saying the word “Bob” cracks me up. I also loved him as Zazu in The Lion King.

  30. Imogen Beth Clegg
    26th Apr 2016 / 4:02 PM

    I LOVE this movie! Not as good as the original and I kind of missed Ben Miller, but still a great, funny film! Rowan Atkinson is one of my favourite comedy actors of all time, I still watch Blackadder regularly 🙂

  31. Kerry O'Byrne
    26th Apr 2016 / 7:21 PM

    Have you ever watched Mr Bean? I think people really underestimate Rowan as an actor he is really funny! Even the kids cartoon version of Mr Bean is funny, my niece cracks up watching it every time!

  32. 26th Apr 2016 / 7:42 PM

    I think I’m one of the few people who never found Mr Bean funny, but I do see why it would appeal to others.

  33. Ana S
    26th Apr 2016 / 7:49 PM

    I loved Johnny English, I think Rowan is really funny, no matter what he does. it makes me not even care about the plot.

  34. Argell Sednaoui
    26th Apr 2016 / 11:36 PM

    I remebered when I watched Johnny English for the first tme, laughed almost all the time. Rowan it’s a funny actor.

  35. Brianna George
    27th Apr 2016 / 4:15 AM

    Mr. Bean! 🙂 No matter what else he plays in he will always b Mr. Bean to me.

  36. adapperchick
    27th Apr 2016 / 10:55 AM

    Hahaha, I love how you enjoyed the movie even though you didn’t understand it – typical “Mr. Bean”
    I can’t wait to see the sequel.

  37. 27th Apr 2016 / 11:43 AM

    I have to say I love anything comical and light hearted- irrelevant of the story line hahah. Sounds great! x

  38. Jo Smith
    27th Apr 2016 / 9:31 PM

    I adore Rowan Atkinson. Can’t wait to see this movie x

  39. Leanne Dolan
    27th Apr 2016 / 9:38 PM

    The Johnny English films are so funny. Haven’t watched them for a while I might have to digs them out! X

  40. suchi
    27th Apr 2016 / 11:57 PM

    After reding ur review..i may actually give this movie a try! looks like a fun friday night watch!

  41. Yogo Cream
    28th Apr 2016 / 1:00 AM

    I wasn’t aware that there had been a second movie of Johnny English. I agree with you that he is really good with his facial expressions that I don’t think anyone could replace him as both Mr. Bean and Johnny English. I’ll watch this movie next thanks to you 🙂 -Me-An Clemente of yogoandcream.com

  42. TheLocdBella
    28th Apr 2016 / 5:05 AM

    OMG! I didn’t know there was another one coming! Thank for letting me know. I’ll be in there like swimwear.

  43. 28th Apr 2016 / 6:56 AM

    Mr Bean!! Oh this looks hilarious! I’m definitely going to have to check it out asap.

  44. Rachael Phillips
    28th Apr 2016 / 10:26 AM

    i have a love hate relationship with Rowan Atkinson. On one hand i love him in things like love actually, black adder etc on the other, I can’t stand Mr Bean lol. But gonna give this a whirl! x

  45. Fred Erick
    28th Apr 2016 / 1:47 PM

    The first movie was really hilarious. I think it’s about time they follow it up. I will watch this!

  46. Eugenia Nazarova
    28th Apr 2016 / 2:04 PM

    Rowan Atkinson is one of my favorite comedy actors! I love the first movie but haven’t watched a sequel yet! Thanks a lot for the review!

  47. Janella Panchamsingh
    28th Apr 2016 / 11:59 PM

    oh my my kids love the character mr bean. hes is the funniest actor ever

  48. Ming Ming
    30th Apr 2016 / 1:49 PM

    I like this movie very much. Rowan Atkinson is my favorite!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?