Home ยป Film ยป Film Review: The First Time Starring Dylan O’brien

Film Review: The First Time Starring Dylan O’brien

Film Review: The First Time Starring Dylan O'brien

The First Time is, unsurprisingly, about two teenagers and their first time. They meet in the alley behind a house party one night as Dave paces up and down trying to figure out what to say to the girl he likes and Aubrey waits for her friends who are no doubt hooking up with people inside. Conversation strikes up between the pair and when the cops show up they make a break for it and that is the start of their relationship. Aubrey has a boyfriend and Dave is supposedly in love with another girl but there seems to be a connection between the pair that develops quickly over the weekend. This film is basically about this pair as they try to figure out what (and who) they want in terms of sex and relationships.

This may seem like your typical, crappy teenage film but it was actually deeper than that. The First Time explores the minds of two teenage virgins and their thoughts and expectations of their ‘first time’. This certainly isn’t the best film and there were many flaws as you can expect from this sort of teen drama but I think it did do a fairly good job of portraying teenage thought patterns and the awkwardness of one’s first time/first love. This is a very confusing time for most teenagers and this film doesn’t glance over that fact. This isn’t a teen rom-com where everything is fine and dandy, there are many bumps along the way as Aubrey and Dave try to sort their thoughts out. So, in terms of the main plot this film fulfilled its purpose.

At times I felt that the pace of The First Time was moving a little two quickly, as was the relationship between Aubrey and Dave. This entire film plays out over the space of one weekend though it seems a lot longer than that. This was probably the most unrealistic thing about the film and made it seem more like a teenagers fantasy, but everything else about this film seemed pretty real. This film makes you laugh and cry and cringe. It is incredibly funny at times, awkward teenage encounters are hilarious – especially when true and realistic, but it was also really poignant and sad at times.

I felt that the acting was absolutely brilliant in The First Time from the two main roles, most notably, Dylan O’Brien. He is most known for staring the nerdy best friend in MTV’s Teen Wolf so he fitted the role of social outcast Dave really well. O’Brien was in his element and managed to bring across an extremely witty but kinda sensitive teenage boy. He’s definitely portrayed as a good guy, but he’s not perfect, he’s still human, and that’s what makes him all the more lovable. Nobody does awkward teenager like Dylan O’Brien and he is definitely the best thing about this movie. Britt Robertson didn’t do a bad job as Aubrey either. Aubrey is not your stereotypical girl and for the most part Britt Robertson portrayed Aubrey’s feisty character well on screen; however, there were a few moments when Robertson seemed like she was trying to be one of those slightly ‘indie’ girls (these rare moments were only a slight flaw in the movie though).

All in all The First Time is full of awkwardness, laughter and emotion. A lot of teenagers will be able to relate to the one or both of the two main characters in some way or another and if you’re the sort of person that likes these sort of coming-of-age teen movies then this is definitely for you. This is the sort of movie that critics hate but the public secretly loves. It’s not the best film, but you can’t help but enjoy it and feel your heart warm to it. There were a couple of twists that made your heart skip a little but for the most part this is a fairly predictable film, but name me a teenage drama that isn’t. I would highly recommend this to teenage girls or anyone looking for a fairly lighthearted teenage film that can make you laugh out loud and cry at the same time.

Watch The First Time Online

If you liked this post, check out these:

What If Film Review
Prom Film Review
Submarine Film Review

Stay up to date with What’s Hot?

Instagram / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow:
Share:

37 Comments

  1. 12th May 2016 / 3:17 PM

    I’ve heard bits about this film but seen mixed reviews which is why I haven’t rushed to watch it. I can’t believe it’s set over one weekend, a bit unrealistic there x

  2. 12th May 2016 / 8:21 PM

    I have to admit bar the name I know nothing about this film, perhaps I’ll have to try and catch it sometime. x

  3. 12th May 2016 / 9:25 PM

    I really enjoyed this movie but I think that was more because I love Dylan and Britt so much!

  4. 12th May 2016 / 9:58 PM

    I have not heard of this film, it does sound like something I would watch though, so will be looking out for it x

  5. Harriet @ Toby&Roo
    12th May 2016 / 10:00 PM

    My best friend wants to go see this but I wasn’t sold… I’m not really a chick flick kind of gal! H x

  6. 12th May 2016 / 11:13 PM

    I haven’t watched this movie yet but heard a lot about it.

  7. Laura
    13th May 2016 / 3:23 AM

    I haven’t seen this film before but its the kind of thing that I would watch on Netflix while I’m pottering about the house xxx

  8. 13th May 2016 / 6:40 AM

    I’ve never heard of this film, I wonder if it’s on Netflix since it’s so old. Sounds interesting

  9. 13th May 2016 / 9:07 AM

    I can honestly say I’ve never heard of this film but it’s sounds like I would enjoy it though

  10. Camilla
    13th May 2016 / 11:16 AM

    I’m a bit too old for this but sounds like a film my kids would like:-)

  11. Beautyqueenuk
    13th May 2016 / 12:13 PM

    I think I am possibly a tad too old for this, but if I want something to watch on a Sunday afternoon then this sounds like it for me x

  12. 13th May 2016 / 3:35 PM

    This sounds like just the sort of film I’d enjoy! The sort of thing I’d watch when my husband’s out though, not his thing! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. Kerry O'Byrne
    13th May 2016 / 3:51 PM

    Another great, honest review. Never seen the film, don’t think it would be my cup of tea but I’m sure my younger cousins would love it. American pie was my generations virgin exploration film, can still remember how awkward it was when watching lol!

  14. bc21578
    13th May 2016 / 3:55 PM

    Wow, I must be old. Never saw this movie, nor have I heard of anyone in it!

  15. Franco
    13th May 2016 / 4:58 PM

    Although I’m no longer a teen anymore, still I think this is a must-watch!

  16. 13th May 2016 / 5:12 PM

    Love these rom-coms kind of movies..I think I have watched this one – found it a one time watch though ! But yah , it’s a light hearted rom-com!

  17. Hannah Heartss โ„๏ธโ›„๏ธ
    13th May 2016 / 5:33 PM

    I love these types of films so I will have to watch it soon!

  18. kmaryam
    13th May 2016 / 7:25 PM

    I watched this movie, and as much as I love Dylan I didn’t like the movie I really expected more :/

  19. ThisKenyanTraveler
    13th May 2016 / 8:37 PM

    This will seem unreal but I was just looking for a movie to watch. I’m going to watch this now.
    Thank youuuuuuuu ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Kira L Curtis
    13th May 2016 / 8:49 PM

    I watched this movie quite a while ago so I couldn’t fully remember what happened but I remember not liking it at first but carried on watching it and ended up loving it! I need to watch it again!

  21. Melanie Edjourian
    13th May 2016 / 9:32 PM

    I’ve never heard of this film but it seems it may be worth watching.

  22. Rose Sahetapy
    13th May 2016 / 11:43 PM

    The story sounds interesting, quite different than what we seefrom eenage movie in market nowadays. I wonder what year this movie launched.

  23. Ana S
    14th May 2016 / 1:18 AM

    Oh I have watched this movie a while ago, but I remember I have liked it too. I can relate to your opinion.

  24. 14th May 2016 / 7:45 AM

    I don’t usually watch teen drama, but the story seems interesting. Although I’m not sure I can convince my husband to watch it with me. :))

  25. kage
    14th May 2016 / 8:49 AM

    I’m not really into teenage coming of age movies, but after reading your review it might be a pretty fun movie, might give it a go and if I like it I’ll add it to my Guilty Pleasures list.

  26. Leanne Dolan
    14th May 2016 / 8:50 AM

    This is probably a film I’d chuck on the tv on a whim when I’m blogging but want something on in the background. That being said I’d probably end up abandoning my laptop and get sucked into it!

  27. 14th May 2016 / 2:47 PM

    Usually I’m not watching this type of movies, but there are days when I just want to see something lighter – your review got me interested in checking it out sometime, as the story sounds a little more deep than the usual teen-drama ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. 14th May 2016 / 3:07 PM

    I have not heard of this movie, but it sounds like it would make a good watch one evening with friends.

  29. Jessica
    14th May 2016 / 3:26 PM

    You did a great review. I love how you observed the typical and untypical parts of the movie. I will be checking this out.

  30. Kalliopi Sakellariou
    14th May 2016 / 3:46 PM

    Ha ha that sounds like a fun movie! Obviously I am not a teenager any more , but I love to watch these type of stories. They remind me of the time I was young and romantic.

  31. Bex Smith
    14th May 2016 / 5:22 PM

    I love Dylan O’Brien and whilst this may not be my usual type of film I may give it a go

  32. Karla Pitzen
    15th May 2016 / 1:24 AM

    Someone else commented that they must be old because they don’t know the actors and haven’t heard of the movie. I’m in the same boat! I probably would have liked it when I was younger.

  33. Natasha Mairs
    15th May 2016 / 1:03 PM

    This sounds like something I would have really enjoyed watching as a teenager. Might give it a watch now too

  34. 15th May 2016 / 7:08 PM

    I think they have done a great job of fleshing out the characters and giving them realistic traits. Anyone’s first time is quite awkward so its nice to see they have used realism.

  35. 16th May 2016 / 11:39 AM

    sounds like a good film to sit down and relax with hubby , he likes to watch these types although he wont admit it lol x

  36. 16th May 2016 / 12:26 PM

    I’ll be recommending this one to my eldest – I will admit to being absolutely ancient though and never having heard of Dylan O’Brien!

  37. CourtneyLynne Storms
    16th May 2016 / 4:18 PM

    Ooooo this sounds like a good flick!!! I will have to watch it with hubby next time we have a movie night!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?