Home » Film » Film Review: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Film Review: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Film Review: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

When this movie first came out, my best friend highly recommended it to me; however, it didn’t really seem like something I would find that interesting so I ignored her advice until now. Prior to watching this film, I had absolutely no idea what the film was actually about apart from the fact that it was something to do with old British people in India, though I had heard that it’s funny so I gave it a shot.

This movie is about a group of British retirees who jet off to India to stay at the Marigold Hotel in an attempt to ‘outsource old age’. None of them are particularly impressed with the hotel which had in fact been photoshopped in the brochure, some even less pleased than others, but as time goes on, they all grow and develop and learn to love India.

This film is described as a ‘British Comedy-Drama’, though I have to say that I didn’t find it that funny. Sure, it was amusing, and there were moments that made me chuckle, but nothing really hilarious. The first third of the film is quite amusing as you get to know each of the individual characters and their personalities, but as the film progressed it started to lose the humour and become more about the drama. Personally, I didn’t think that there was much of a ‘plot’, as such, but the character development was interesting to watch.

There is an absolutely brilliant array of talented actors in this film, so I had quite high expectations right from the onset and they certainly did not disappoint. The acting was phenomenal and I loved that they were all British. Dev Patel’s indian accent was funny, but accurate and his character is certainly the most loveable of them all. Dame Maggie Smith is an absolutely incredible actress and is one of my favourites. Her character probably underwent the biggest transformation and it really showed that Dame Smith can act just about any character superbly. The other characters included Judi Dench, Bill Nighy, Tom Wilkinson and countless other British actors.

This was a lovely movie, but, it just wasn’t exciting enough for me. The acting was superb and the concept was great and I would highly recommend it but it just isn’t the sort of movie that floats my boat (which is surprising because I haven’t said that about any movie in a long, long time). This film will probably appeal to those who know a lot about either British or Indian traditions, because this film is primarily about the clashing, or coming together, of the two cultures. I liked the portrayal of British and Indian culture and this was the best bit for me. I have never been to India myself; however, I think that they gave a pretty decent portrayal of the vibrant Indian culture. There was lots of hustle and bustle and it was exactly how I imagine India to be. The characters are pretty stereotypical British, old retirees; however, they all react in very different ways to India and their surroundings. All in all, I wasn’t expecting anything brilliant and I, personally, didn’t really relate to this film at all; however, I can still see that it is a great film that many others will enjoy.

If you liked this post, check out these:

Stay up to date with What’s Hot?

 Instagram / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Follow:
Share:

33 Comments

  1. adam-p-reviews
    6th Aug 2012 / 2:35 PM

    I still haven't seen this movie! I went to my local cinema to see it but the line was that big I didn't get in! Thanks for reminding me to watch it 😉 great review!

  2. 11th May 2016 / 3:41 PM

    I bought this movie for my nan and have been meaning to borrow it to watch! Definitely need to after reading this x

  3. Codie Louise Austin
    11th May 2016 / 4:27 PM

    I haven’t seen this yet but looking at the line up, I’m not sure why! Dame Maggie can do no wrong! x

  4. 11th May 2016 / 5:26 PM

    I never fancied seeing this when it came out, but did watch it eventually and really enjoyed it x

  5. Nikki Hamilton
    11th May 2016 / 5:28 PM

    I still havnt seen this but everyone I know has so I think its time I give it a go!

  6. 11th May 2016 / 7:20 PM

    Do you know this one film I have never seen, it seems to be one of those films that most people have seen and loved though. x

  7. Kacie
    11th May 2016 / 7:46 PM

    I’m off to India in November for the first time 🙂 I may just have to watch this – not only does it look great, but I can tell I’d learn a thing or two about the culture.

  8. 11th May 2016 / 9:57 PM

    I’ve been wanting to see this film for a while. I saw it getting rave reviews but my boyfriend won’t watch it with me!

    • 12th May 2016 / 1:50 PM

      Oh no that’s so annoying! Grab a friend to watch it with you 🙂

  9. Beautyqueenuk
    11th May 2016 / 10:03 PM

    I have this on a list of films I want to watch, I loved the book x

    • 12th May 2016 / 1:49 PM

      I’ve never read the book but if you’d recommend it then I’ll add it to my wish list 🙂

  10. Laura
    12th May 2016 / 1:02 AM

    I watched this film years ago but I didn’t like it however I’ve seen the second one and think its fantastic! xxx

    • 12th May 2016 / 1:49 PM

      Ooh I had no idea there was a second one but if it’s even better than the first then I’ll have to check it out!

  11. 12th May 2016 / 9:26 AM

    I love this movie and I absolutely love the second one! xx

    • 12th May 2016 / 1:49 PM

      I didn’t know there was a second one! Will have to check that out too 🙂

  12. Anthea
    12th May 2016 / 10:08 AM

    This is one of my favourite movies. The casting is brilliant and the cinematography stunning!

  13. LallahLand
    12th May 2016 / 2:32 PM

    I haven’t seen this movie yet, thanks for the review!

  14. Amy Scott
    12th May 2016 / 3:31 PM

    I saw this one time because I walked in while my mom was watching. I didn’t really get it either. Then again I didn’t see the entire thing. But they bring out another so there must’ve been some interest! I might watch it again.

  15. Alison
    12th May 2016 / 8:35 PM

    I have never even heard of this movie but I agree with you, I don’t think I would connect with it well. I don’t understand the cultures that well between the two countries and I think that would make it more interesting. http://Www.cheerykitchen.com

  16. Melanie Edjourian
    12th May 2016 / 10:12 PM

    This was a good film I think they have another out since then.

  17. 12th May 2016 / 11:24 PM

    I have not watched the film yet but I think I would be in the same boat as you. It is not my type of film but I am sure that it is pleasant to watch.

  18. Kalliopi Sakellariou
    13th May 2016 / 1:40 AM

    I haven’t seen the film but now I will definitely check it out and see if we are at the same path. But I can feel that I will not be also so excited about the film. I don’t know many things about Indian culture!

  19. 13th May 2016 / 3:12 AM

    Great review and it comes across that you are totally honest. Sometimes these movies have a totally different meaning if viewer has been to those places and has experience with that culture. I haven’t seen it but I might try to find this on Netflix

  20. Rashmi & Chalukya
    13th May 2016 / 2:36 PM

    I have not seen this film but after reading through your review would definitely want to watch it once, for I love comedy dramas. Thanks for sharing!

  21. gme
    13th May 2016 / 4:12 PM

    i’ve seen this film and ive loved it ! and i agree its not for everyone, i thought it was kindy long but none the less entertaining and the cast was brilliant ! but yeah not for everybody but stilll worth the watch if you have time to burn.

  22. Janella Panchamsingh
    13th May 2016 / 5:36 PM

    I haven’t seen this film I have heard about it, the cast is very strong though. I guess i can put this on the list to watch this weekend

  23. tp keane
    13th May 2016 / 7:26 PM

    I’ve wanted to see this movie forever. Love the characters in it. Never actually got around to it, so maybe now I will. Thanks for the reminder.

  24. Ana Ojha
    13th May 2016 / 7:47 PM

    This movie sounds amazing. I like the movies of Dev Patel. I will check this out. Thanks for sharing the review!

  25. The Practical Saver
    13th May 2016 / 9:30 PM

    I’ve not seen these movies yet and probably won’t be able to watch them until they come out of the DVD. I like Dev Patel especially when he was in the Slumdog Millionaire. – Allan Liwanag

  26. 14th May 2016 / 1:29 PM

    I enjoyed this movie when I saw it several years ago. Great characters.

  27. Reclusive Fox
    14th May 2016 / 3:34 PM

    It’s not the kind of movie that floats my boat either I’m afraid. I can appreciate the acting but at the end of the day it’s got to have a good story too (by good I mean good based on my taste).

  28. 15th May 2016 / 6:09 AM

    thanks for the review! I know they’ve made a second one so would have to watch this one before even moving on to the next one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?